domainwatch.org

Thursday April 7 2005

Court coming Rafferty’s domain (Chesley Rafferty)

Filed under: Domain Names Australia, Chesley Rafferty — Josh @ 11:16 pm

from: http://www.ipaustralia.gov.au/ipprofessor/currentnews.shtml

” …

Court coming Rafferty’s domain
West Australian, 16/03/2005, Business News, page 63
By: Michael Weir

Looks like the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission’s old pal Chesley Paul Rafferty, of Domain Names Australia, has a few problems outside of his legal rows over generating bogus bills for domain names. Rafferty was in the Perth Magistrate’s Court on Monday facing three drug charges, including possessing MDMA with intent to sell or supply and possessing amphetamines.

… “

MDMA is Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (ecstasy).

Wednesday April 6 2005

Domain Names Australia in liquidation (Chesley Rafferty)

Filed under: Domain Names Australia, Chesley Rafferty — Josh @ 9:09 pm

Chesely Rafferty‘ s Domain Names Australia Pty Ltd, found to be misleading and deceptive by an Australian federal court, is now in liquidation.

from: http://www.search.asic.gov.au/cgi-bin/gns030c?acn=102562649

” …

Extracted from ASIC’s database at 20:04:44 on 06/04/2005
Name DOMAIN NAMES AUSTRALIA PTY LTD
ACN 102 562 649
ABN 61 102 562 649
Type Australian Proprietary Company, Limited By Shares
Registration Date 21/10/2002
Next Review Date 21/10/2005
Status ** UNDER EXTERNAL ADMINISTRATION and/or CONTROLLER APPOINTED **
Locality of Registered Office Perth WA 6000
Jurisdiction Australian Securities & Investments Commission

These are the documents that ASIC has most recently received from or in relation to this organisation. Page numbers are shown if processing is complete and the document is available for purchase.
Date Number Pages Description
15/03/2005 021195331 2 505G Notification of Appointment of Liquidator By The Court
10/03/2005 021086115 1 519D Notification of Making of Winding Up Order
03/03/2005 021047457 1 519G Notification of Application to Wind Up Company Under S. 459p, 462 or 464

… “

Tuesday March 15 2005

Domain Names Australia: misleading and deceptive (Chesley Rafferty)

Filed under: Domain Names Australia, Chesley Rafferty — Josh @ 7:15 pm

Even though an Australian Federal Court found Domain Names Australia Pty Ltd (Chesley Rafferty) guilty of misleading and deceptive conduct, the company is still causing problems for domain name buyers.

from: http://dotau.org/archive/2005-03/0031.html

—–Original Message—–
From: Ron Stark
Sent: Tuesday, 15 March 2005 3:54 PM
To: dns [at] dotau.org
Subject: [DNS] Still at it, eh Chesley?

Well, I’ve just had a call from an outraged client.

They originally got caught by one of Chesley’s look-alike dot-com domain scams in August 2004. In December that same year my client received a $187 renewal notice, which their accounts department recently paid in ignorance.

Let’s look at what Chesley’s done, and is still up to, through Domain Names Australia …

1. The original registration was as a result of a deceptive and misleading mailer, and was in fact unwanted;
2. The mailer promised a 2-year registration period, among other “services”. On investigation whois reports that the original registration was for only a 1-year period, despite 2 having been paid for;
3. The “renewal notice” was sent out less than 4 months after the original unwanted domain name was registered by Domain Names Australia (with enom);
4. The services that were promised on both the original mailer and the renewal notice have never been provided;
5. Some of the registrant information is false, in that registrant contact details are actually those of Domain Names Australia;

I’ve tried to get some response from enom on previous occasions, and it’s a complete waste of time. If, for example, there is a domain name that Chesley has registered, that the registrant actually wants (yes - there are some!), the only password that is available is Chesley’s master reseller password, so transfers to another registrar are not possible. This is particularly frustrated by the fact that registrant contact details refer back to Domain Names Australia, even the phone and fax numbers.

Ron Stark
Snapsite Pty Ltd

Sunday March 6 2005

Domain Names Australia Pty Ltd winding up (Chesley Rafferty)

Filed under: Domain Names Australia, Chesley Rafferty — Josh @ 7:03 pm

While Chesley Rafferty is busily ramping up Domains Australia Pty Ltd, Domain Names Australia Pty Ltd is winding up.

from: http://www.search.asic.gov.au/cgi-bin/gns030c?acn=102_562_649&juris=9&hdtext=ACN&srchsrc=1

” …
Extracted from ASIC’s database at 18:58:01 on 06/03/2005
Name DOMAIN NAMES AUSTRALIA PTY LTD
ACN 102 562 649
ABN 61 102 562 649
Type Australian Proprietary Company, Limited By Shares
Registration Date 21/10/2002
Next Review Date 21/10/2005
Status Registered
Locality of Registered Office Perth WA 6000
Jurisdiction Australian Securities & Investments Commission

These are the documents that ASIC has most recently received from or in relation to this organisation. Page numbers are shown if processing is complete and the document is available for purchase.

Date Number Pages Description
03/03/2005 021047457 1 519G Notification of Application to Wind Up Company Under S. 459p, 462 or 464
23/02/2005 021094045 Not Imaged 519G Notification of Application to Wind Up Company Under S.

23/07/2003 019315703 3 484 Change to Company Details Change of Registered Address
484C Change of Principal Place of Business (Address)
484A Change of Officeholder/member Name or Address
484O Changes to Share Structure
484G Notification of Share Issue
484N Changes to (Members) Share Holdings
… “

Friday March 4 2005

auDA Consumer Alert: Domains Australia (Chesley Rafferty)

Filed under: Domains Australia, Domain Names Australia, Chesley Rafferty — Josh @ 7:04 am

auDA has emailed .au domain name owners a Consumer Alert regarding the latest Domains Australia Pty Ltd (Chesley Rafferty) mass mail out.

Date: Thu, 3 Mar 2005 20:15:41 +1100
From: adam.king [at] auda.org.au
To: [snip-snip]
Subject: Domains Australia Pty Ltd - Consumer Alert

You are receiving this email because you are the registrant contact for a .au domain name. .au Domain Administration Ltd (auDA) is the Australian company that operates .au.

auDA has become aware that a company called Domains Australia Pty Ltd is sending letters and/or faxes to some domain name registrants offering to arrange registration of a .com domain name for $225.

The letter is headed ‘DOMAIN NAME AVAILABLE’. auDA has received numerous complaints which indicate that some of the names being offered are either:

1. registered already to the recipient of the letter and not due to expire in the near future; or

2. registered to a different entity and is not available for registration.

auDA is concerned that the letters may:

a) mislead people into believing that their .com domain name has expired when it has not; or

b) mislead people into believing that a .com name is available for registration when it is not; and

c) in either case induce people to pay money to Domains Australia for a service that the company is unable to deliver.

Domains Australia is a company controlled by Chesley Rafferty, who is also a Director of Domain Names Australia Pty Ltd.

auDA has successfully taken legal action against Mr Rafferty and Domain Names Australia under the Trade Practices Act. For more information see http://www.auda.org.au/news/dna.

If you have received a .com letter from Domains Australia and you wish to lodge a formal complaint, auDA advises that you immediately contact the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) either by lodging an electronic complaint at http://www.accc.gov.au/content/index.phtml/itemId/3634 or by faxing details to their Canberra office on (02) 6243 1199.

Adam King
auDA

« Previous PageNext Page »

Disclaimer: The domainwatch.org page has been developed using publicly available information. While due care has been exercised to ensure the accuracy and currency of the material contained on this web page, the editor strongly recommends that users exercise their own skill and care with respect to its use and seek professional advice where appropriate. While the information provided is considered to be true and correct at the date of publication, changes in circumstances after the time of publication may impact on the accuracy of the information. The editor will consider requests to correct factual errors if accompanied by reasonable proof of the error(s). © Copyright 2001-2005 - Josh Rowe - josh@email.nu - Powered by WordPress