from: http://www.theage.com.au/news/business/playtime-at-portsea-may-get-rough/2006/01/22/1137864806219.html
” …
Scammers go offline
By Helen Westerman and Rebecca Urban
January 23, 2006
IF CYBERLAND is the new frontier, then Chesley Rafferty and Brad Norrish are definitely its cowboys.
The pair have gained a reputation as profligate cyber-scammers for sending out misleading invoices to businesses asking them to register their domain names.
And it seems their activities continue. Norrish has been ordered to hand over a site he has been using that shares the domain name of online travel booking service Webjet.
The travel group’s website, webjet.com.au, generated $77.5million from 2004 to 2005 and was rated Australia’s No.1 travel site in the same year by Hitwise.
But Norrish’s domain name, webjet.com, which he bought in October, takes users to Webjet’s competitors and some porn sites for good measure. Webjet complained to the international arbiter, the Geneva-based World Intellectual Property Organisation (WIPO), that by using the same name, Norrish was confusing users and using the website in bad faith.
The elusive Norrish did not respond to the panel, which also found he had provided a false phone number to register the domain name.
Panellist Ross Wilson ordered Norrish to transfer the website over to Webjet.
The action follows a $1.3 million fine imposed last month by the Australian Federal Court on Norrish and Rafferty, for an elaborate copyright scam involving 2.2 million websites registered in Britain.
In 2003 the pair illegally “scraped” the database of Nominet UK, the national registry for .uk domain names, for the details of 50,000 registrants.
Judge Robert French found the pair and three of their companies — Diverse Internet Pty Ltd, Internet Payments Pty Ltd and Seychelles-based UK Internet Registry Ltd — had broken copyright and Australian free trade laws.
Judge French said the pair’s conduct had been “flagrant”, and also ordered them to pay costs, estimated at $1 million.
But getting the money will not be easy. Rafferty was declared bankrupt in Australia in October and the company solicitor at Nominet, Edward Phillips, told Full Disclosure that several of the defendants were in the process of being bankrupted by Nominet and others.
“They have some assets, but we cannot accurately predict how much, if any, of this money we will see — some of it is frozen in foreign bank accounts,” says Phillips. But Phillips says if the action is enough to bankrupt them, that may be good enough.
… “
from: http://arbiter.wipo.int/domains/decisions/html/2005/d2005-1096.html
” …
WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center
ADMINISTRATIVE PANEL DECISION
Webjet Marketing Pty Ltd v. Brad Norrish
Case No. D2005-1096
1. The Parties
The Complainant is Webjet Marketing Pty Ltd of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, represented by Minter Ellison of Australia.
The Respondent is Brad Norrish of East Perth, Western Australia, Australia.
2. The Domain Name and Registrar
The disputed domain name is registered with eNom, Inc.
…
7. Decision
For all the foregoing reasons, in accordance with paragraphs 4(i) of the Policy and 15 of the Rules, the Panel orders that the domain name be transferred to the Complainant.
Ross Wilson
Sole Panelist
Date: December 29, 2005
… “
from whois.enom.com
” …
Checking server [whois.enom.com]
Results:
Registration Service Provided By: eNom, Inc.
Contact: info2@eNom.com
Domain name: webjet.com
Registrant Contact:
NA
Brad Norrish (NA)
NA
Fax:
2/47 Forrest Ave
East Perth, Western Australia 6004
East Perth, WE 6004
US
Administrative Contact:
NA
Brad Norrish (bradnorrish@yahoo.com.au)
888 317 8842
Fax:
2/47 Forrest Ave
East Perth, Western Australia 6004
East Perth, WE 6004
US
Technical Contact:
NA
Brad Norrish (bradnorrish@yahoo.com.au)
888 317 8842
Fax:
2/47 Forrest Ave
East Perth, Western Australia 6004
East Perth, WE 6004
US
Status: Locked
Name Servers:
dns1.name-services.com
dns2.name-services.com
dns3.name-services.com
dns4.name-services.com
dns5.name-services.com
Creation date: 02 Oct 1995 00:00:00
Expiration date: 01 Oct 2007 00:00:00
Whois-Services: 8d4c43df-6a82-4026-bc06-4bfafddd0eda@whois-services.com
… “