domainwatch.org

Monday August 7 2006

BEWARE: NZ Domain Registration Ltd (Blair Rafferty)

Filed under: NZ Domain Registration, Blair Rafferty — Josh @ 7:28 pm

NZ Domain Registration Ltd
http://www.dnc.org.nz/story/30259-29-1.html

” …

NZ Domain Registration Ltd
Published at 3:50pm, 7th August 2006

The Domain Name Commissioner is aware of a mass mail out by an entity “NZ Domain Registration Ltd”.

NZ Domain Registration Ltd appears to be sending pro forma letters to registrants seeking fees for the registration of .net.nz names.

The letters to registrants specify a .net.nz domain name to be registered.

Authorised .nz domain name registrars are not permitted to specify a particular domain name in an offer of registry services. NZ Domain Registration Ltd is not an authorised .nz registrar.

The letters are also in a printed form that looks similar to an invoice or a renewal notice. This may cause confusion.

Registrants who have recently received what appears to be an invoice or a renewal notice for their domain name are strongly advised to look carefully at all details before paying any sum requested.

Registrants are strongly advised to be cautious before proceeding with any registration offered in a letter from NZ Domain Registration Ltd.

Registrants are also reminded that they are under no obligation to proceed with the registration and that doing nothing will not affect their current domain name registrations.

The DNC is monitoring the situation and will investigate any possible breaches of .nz policy. If people have concerns about the actions of NZ Domain Registration Ltd please email info@dnc.org.nz.
… “

Rafferty carries on domain slamming
http://www.geekzone.co.nz/juha/1021

” …

It’s another Rafferty this time though: Blair, who is the brother of Chesley.

Blair’s been mailing .nz registrants in large numbers with these letters:

Which the New Zealand Domain Name Commissioner says looks like invoices or a domain renewal notices, complete with payment slips at the bottom. An MP3 player is held up as a carrot for potential registrants as well.

The people I spoke to for the Computerworld said that Rafferty’s company is asking money for a variant of their existing domain name - for example, if they have somedomain.co.nz, the letter mentions somedomain.net.nz. In other words, you wouldn’t be renewing your domain but registering another one.

Blair apparently took over Chesley’s directorships when the latter brother went bankrupt last year. In July this year, Chesley’s partner Brad Norrish also went bankrupt. Both men have million-dollar judgements against them in the Australian Federal Court.

Unfortunately, it looks like this kind of scamming is hard to stamp out. There are always some people who will fall for it, and at $225 a piece, it doesn’t take long before the scammer makes a return on his “investment”.

If you have a .nz domain and have received one of the above letters - DON’T PAY. Apart from anything, it’s a craptacular deal. Computerworld reader Patrick Baron wrote in and said he can get two years’ worth of .nz registration at Freeparking for $85.39. He also says a 128MB USB-stick MP3 player can be had for around $58, so the $225 Rafferty’s asking is a lousy deal.

I’d like to know how Rafferty can register new .nz domains though like this? The DNC needs to investigate this and de-authorise whoever it is that is helping out Rafferty.

By Juha Saarinen

… “

Rafferty brother continues domain slamming scam
http://computerworld.co.nz/news.nsf/0/869000D3A38C3BA7CC2571C3000317D8?OpenDocument

” …

Rafferty brother continues domain slamming scam
By Juha Saarinen, Auckland | Monday, 7 August, 2006

Blair Rafferty is believed to have resurrected his bankrupt brother Chesley’s domain name registration scam, targetting New Zealand and Australian registrants.

Domain name registrants in New Zealand are sent pro-forma invoices asking for $225 for a two-year period through NZ Domain Registration Ltd, with an office address given as 60 Cook Street, Auckland. The address is the same that Chesley Rafferty used in the past and leads to The Corporate Centre, which supplies serviced offices and telephone answering for customers.

Blair Rafferty is listed as the director of New Zealand Domain Registration Ltd, according to the Companies Office.

Clemenger Commmunications National IT Manager Jeremy Strachan says he received twenty such letters for various New Zealand domains. He says the domains are ones registered but not used by him, indicating that the information used by Rafferty is out of date.

Strachan showed Computerworld a copy of the letter, which promises a “free MP3 player” if people take the bait. Another .nz registrant, Patrick Baron, contacted Computerworldto say that he too has targetted by NZ Domain Registration Ltd. Baron says he is being offered the .net.nz version of his existing .co.nz domain for $225.00 including GST, and describes the attempt to as a “slightly more sophisticated mass-mailing attack” than previous such runs.

Chesley Rafferty sent out hundreds of thousands of invoices similar to the ones making the rounds now, was found guilty by Australia’s Federal court in 2004 of false and misleading conduct under the country’s Trade Practices Act.

In 2005, Chesley Rafferty and his business partner Brad Norrish had A$1.3 million damages awarded against them, after the Federal Court found the pair had copied UK domain registrar Nominet’s database of customers. Rafferty went bankrupt last year, and Norrish in July this year.

However, Blair Rafferty has since then taken over as director of his brother’s companies, according to Australian official records.

Computerworld rang the number given for New Zealand Domain Registration Ltd to speak to Blair Rafferty but the call was answered by a voice mail recorder. Our call was not returned.

New Zealand Domain Name Commissioner Debbie Monahan says her office is aware of Rafferty’s mailout, and is working with the Commerce Commission on the case. Monahan says the format of the letters is somewhat different to the last time the slamming scam made the rounds in New Zealand, but adds that the letters still give the impression that they are invoices or renewal notices for domains.

… “

from: whois.publicdomainregistry.com

” …

Owner (Registrant Contact)

Name: Domain Manager
Company: NZ Domain Registration Ltd
Address:

Level 3
60 Cook St

City: Auckland
State: Auckland
Country: NZ
Zip: 1010
Tel No: 064 93531790
Fax No:
Email: info@nzdomainregistation.com

Administrative Contact

Name: Domain Manager
Company: NZ Domain Registration Ltd
Address:

Level 3
60 Cook St

City: Auckland
State: Auckland
Country: NZ
Zip: 1010
Tel No: 064 93531790
Fax No:
Email: info@nzdomainregistation.com

Technical Contact

Name: Domain Manager
Company: NZ Domain Registration Ltd
Address:

Level 3
60 Cook St

City: Auckland
State: Auckland
Country: NZ
Zip: 1010
Tel No: 064 93531790
Fax No:
Email: info@nzdomainregistation.com

Nameserver Details

NameServer: ns1-sullivan.nswebhost.com
NameServer: ns2-sullivan.nswebhost.com

Record Details

Creation Date: Jul 10 2006
Expiration Date: Jul 10 2007

… “

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Disclaimer: The domainwatch.org page has been developed using publicly available information. While due care has been exercised to ensure the accuracy and currency of the material contained on this web page, the editor strongly recommends that users exercise their own skill and care with respect to its use and seek professional advice where appropriate. While the information provided is considered to be true and correct at the date of publication, changes in circumstances after the time of publication may impact on the accuracy of the information. The editor will consider requests to correct factual errors if accompanied by reasonable proof of the error(s). © Copyright 2001-2005 - Josh Rowe - josh@email.nu - Powered by WordPress