Pest gives himself a sporting chance (Bradley Norrish)
” …
Pest gives himself a sporting chance
Date: February 9 2006
By Helen Westerman and Rebecca Urban
NOTORIOUS cybersquatter Brad Norrish, certainly has a never-say-die attitude.
After having his deceptive antics reined in by several Australian courts, Perth-based Norrish has taken on US sporting channel network ESPN.
The sports and entertainment giant recently filed a complaint with the Swiss-based WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center after discovering an entity owned by Norrish, IMCO Corporation, had registered the domain name www.espn.com.au — almost identical to its own internet address www.espn.com.
ESPN, which has television networks in more than 30 countries including Australia, complained that IMCO was using the domain name to divert website users to two misleading and deceptive schemes for its own gain.
One was a purported competition offering a plasma-screen television as a prize, while the other was a weekly horoscope service, for which users were required to pay.
The scam is similar to one involving a website similar to Webjet, which diverted users to competitor travel groups.
Norrish did not respond to the arbitrating panel, which has ordered that the disputed domain name be returned to ESPN.
… “
whois.ausregistry.com.au
Domain Name: espn.com.au
Last Modified: 14-Aug-2005 00:11:18 UTC
Registrar ID: R00103-AR
Registrar Name: Domain Central
Status: CLIENTDELETEPROHIBITED
Status: SERVERDELETEPROHIBITED
Status: SERVERTRANSFERPROHIBITED
Status: CLIENTUPDATEPROHIBITED
Status: SERVERUPDATEPROHIBITEDRegistrant: IMCO Corporation Pty Ltd
Registrant ID: ACN 107034622Registrant ROID: C3032964-AR
Registrant Contact Name: Domain Administrator
Registrant Email: domains@pantherserv.comTech ID: C3032964-AR
Tech Name: Domain Administrator
Tech Email: domains@pantherserv.comName Server: ns1.pantherserv.com
Name Server: ns2.pantherserv.com
from: http://arbiter.wipo.int/domains/decisions/html/2005/dau2005-0005.html
” …
WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center
ADMINISTRATIVE PANEL DECISION
ESPN, Inc. v. IMCO Corporation Pty Ltd
Case No. DAU2005-0005
1. The Parties
Complainant is ESPN, Inc., Bristol, Connecticut, United States of America, represented by White & Case LLP, United States of America.
Respondent is IMCO Corporation Pty Ltd, Perth, Australia.
2. The Domain Name and Registrar
The disputed domain name is registered with Domain Central Pty Ltd.
…
7. Decision
For all the foregoing reasons, in accordance with paragraphs 4(i) of the Policy and 15 of the Rules, the Panel orders that the domain name be transferred to Complainant.
Alan L. Limbury
Sole PanelistDated: January 31, 2006
… “