domainwatch.org

Tuesday March 15 2005

Domain Names Australia: misleading and deceptive (Chesley Rafferty)

Filed under: Domain Names Australia, Chesley Rafferty — Josh @ 7:15 pm

Even though an Australian Federal Court found Domain Names Australia Pty Ltd (Chesley Rafferty) guilty of misleading and deceptive conduct, the company is still causing problems for domain name buyers.

from: http://dotau.org/archive/2005-03/0031.html

—–Original Message—–
From: Ron Stark
Sent: Tuesday, 15 March 2005 3:54 PM
To: dns [at] dotau.org
Subject: [DNS] Still at it, eh Chesley?

Well, I’ve just had a call from an outraged client.

They originally got caught by one of Chesley’s look-alike dot-com domain scams in August 2004. In December that same year my client received a $187 renewal notice, which their accounts department recently paid in ignorance.

Let’s look at what Chesley’s done, and is still up to, through Domain Names Australia …

1. The original registration was as a result of a deceptive and misleading mailer, and was in fact unwanted;
2. The mailer promised a 2-year registration period, among other “services”. On investigation whois reports that the original registration was for only a 1-year period, despite 2 having been paid for;
3. The “renewal notice” was sent out less than 4 months after the original unwanted domain name was registered by Domain Names Australia (with enom);
4. The services that were promised on both the original mailer and the renewal notice have never been provided;
5. Some of the registrant information is false, in that registrant contact details are actually those of Domain Names Australia;

I’ve tried to get some response from enom on previous occasions, and it’s a complete waste of time. If, for example, there is a domain name that Chesley has registered, that the registrant actually wants (yes - there are some!), the only password that is available is Chesley’s master reseller password, so transfers to another registrar are not possible. This is particularly frustrated by the fact that registrant contact details refer back to Domain Names Australia, even the phone and fax numbers.

Ron Stark
Snapsite Pty Ltd

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Disclaimer: The domainwatch.org page has been developed using publicly available information. While due care has been exercised to ensure the accuracy and currency of the material contained on this web page, the editor strongly recommends that users exercise their own skill and care with respect to its use and seek professional advice where appropriate. While the information provided is considered to be true and correct at the date of publication, changes in circumstances after the time of publication may impact on the accuracy of the information. The editor will consider requests to correct factual errors if accompanied by reasonable proof of the error(s). © Copyright 2001-2005 - Josh Rowe - josh@email.nu - Powered by WordPress