domainwatch.org

Saturday July 6 2002

Internet Registry Pty Ltd (Chesley Rafferty) notice in breach of auDA Code of Practice?

Filed under: Internet Registry, Chesley Rafferty — Josh @ 11:35 pm

Here’s the Internet Registry Pty Ltd notice:

Internet Registry Pty Ltd (Chesley Rafferty) notice Internet Registry Pty Ltd (Chesley Rafferty) notice

This statement is incorrect:

” …

Secure your domain name with Internet Registry in the new system before 31st July, any existing registration period for your domain will be added to your two year registration!

… “

Domain Name Licences are for 2 years Only
http://www.auda.org.au/about/news/2001040201.html

The notice may be in breach of the auDA Code of Practice
(http://www.auda.org.au/docs/auda-2002-13.txt), specifically 5.1, 5.2, 5.5 (b),(d)&(f).

” …

5. CUSTOMER CONTACT

5.1 A registrar must not send a renewal notice for a specific domain name licence to a egistrant, or any other communication that might reasonably be construed by the registrant to be a renewal notice, unless the registrar is the registrar of record for that domain name licence in the registry database.

5.2 A reseller must not send a renewal notice for a specific domain name licence to a registrant, or any other communication that might reasonably be construed by the registrant to be a renewal notice, unless the reseller has been previously appointed by the registrant to be their agent.

5.5 Domain name suppliers may make a service offering to a registrant (other than as described in paragraphs 5.1 and 5.2), provided that:

b) there is no mention of a specific domain name or related information such as an expiry date;

d) it is clearly explained that acceptance of the offer may require the registrant to either transfer to another reseller of the current registrar of record, or transfer to a new domain name licence with a different registrar of record;

f) the contact information for the registrant was not obtained from the WHOIS service operated by the registry, or from auDA’s centralised WHOIS service.

… “

From MelbourneIT’s Consumer Warning:

” …

Internet Registry Pty Ltd is not an auDA licensed registrar, nor is it an appointed reseller of Melbourne IT Ltd.

… “

… so which Registrar has this company on their books?

Also of interest:

More Aussie Domain Name Spammers
http://www.aardvark.co.nz/daily/2002/0529.shtml

Aussie domain name resellers raise NZ ire…again
http://www.zdnet.com.au/newstech/ebusiness/story/0,2000024981,20265645,0
0.htm

Australian spammers plunder net names
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/storydisplay.cfm?storyID=2044712&thesection=te
chnology&thesubsection=general

NZ, Australia battle domain name registration spam

http://www.computerworld.com.au/IDG2.NSF/All/01CECAD6A2EC3C67CA256BCA001
3756B?OpenDocument

ServCorp (virtual offices)
Level 25
367 Collins Street
MELBOURNE VIC 3000
http://www.servcorp.net/location.asp?lid=214

Internet Registry Pty Ltd
We are located at:
Level 25,
367 Collins St
Melbourne VIC 3000
http://www.internetregistry.com.au/contact.shtml

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Disclaimer: The domainwatch.org page has been developed using publicly available information. While due care has been exercised to ensure the accuracy and currency of the material contained on this web page, the editor strongly recommends that users exercise their own skill and care with respect to its use and seek professional advice where appropriate. While the information provided is considered to be true and correct at the date of publication, changes in circumstances after the time of publication may impact on the accuracy of the information. The editor will consider requests to correct factual errors if accompanied by reasonable proof of the error(s). © Copyright 2001-2005 - Josh Rowe - josh@email.nu - Powered by WordPress